Arrow pointing left
hayden homes amphitheater

Elvis Costello & The Imposters

Jun 10, 2023


05:30 PM- 07:00 PM


Hayden Homes Amphitheater



Since returning to the road in the summer of 2021, in the guise of "Elvis Costello & The Layabouts", E.C. and The Imposters - Steve Nieve, Pete Thomas, Davey Faragher and augmented by Texas guitarist Charlie Sexton - have undertaken three tours in the United States and one in the U.K. and northern Europe. Most recently Costello played the highly-acclaimed “100 Songs and More”, a ten-night engagement at the Gramercy Theater, NYC at which he played more than 230 original songs, repeating only three titles. The shows that began in solo performance went on to spring nightly surprises, involving everything from an ensemble including musical saw, fiddle and Uillean pipes to an eight-person Broadway vocal chorus led by M.D. Rob Mathes, duets with jazz bassist, Endea Owens and, from the halfway point, performing with Steve Nieve at the piano before adding two different horn sections, led by trumpet player and arranger, Michael Leonhart. The stand included guest vocal appearances by Rebecca Lovell, La Marisol and JSWISS and concluded with a more than three hour finale performance with the full band line-up.


The "We're All Going On A Summer Holiday " dates will follow two headlining appearances at the Byron Bay Bluesfest in Australia, three nights at the Sydney Opera House and a show at the Palais Theatre in Melbourne. In May, Costello and Steve Nieve will return to the concert hall stage together for the first time in twenty years, in Reykjavik, Iceland. 

Since 2018, Costello has issued ten record releases; the most recent being, “The Songs of Bacharach & Costello,” a 4-CD, 2-LP box-set celebrating his nearly 30-year songwriting collaboration with Burt Bacharach. It was named Best New Reissue by Pitchfork. The GRAMMY Award-winning Elvis Costello and The Imposters album "Look Now" of 2018 was followed by the companion E.P., "Purse" while a French language E.P., "La Face Du Pendule à Coucou" followed the album, "Hey Clockface" - recorded in Helsinki and Paris. Together with co-producer, Sebastian Krys, Costello also completed work on "Spanish Model" - an adaptation of 1978's album "This Year's Model" with new vocals recorded in lyrical adaptation and translation with a cast of Latin music performers. In 2022, the latest Elvis Costello and The Imposters release, "The Boy Named If," was followed into the stores by "The Resurrection of Rust,” - the recording debut after fifty years of Rusty - the duo of Liverpool-based singer-songwriters, D.P. MacManus and Allan Mayes, accompanied by The Imposters for new recordings of their 1972 repertoire including two Nick Lowe compositions from his days in the band Brinsley Schwarz. 

Preparations for a return to the stage in 2021 (and again in the summer of 2022) led to the release of  "The Boy Named If (Alive at Memphis Magnetic)'", which found the band running down live arrangements of their new songs along with the Jagger/Richards song, "Out Of Time" and Nick Lowe's 1976 Dutch release, "Truth Drug". The collection was completed by a brand new version of "Magnificent Hurt" by the Japanese duo, chelmico.


  • DATE: Saturday, June 10, 2023
  • DOORS OPEN: 5:30 PM
  • SHOW STARTS: 7:00 PM
  • *Chair rentals available while supplies last
  • Thursday, March 30, 2023
  • 10 AM – 10 PM
  • If not already, sign up for concert alerts (upper right) to receive presale code.
  • Friday, March 31, 2023
  • 10:00 AM